The news media have become too much influence in people lives today and this is a negative development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The news media undoubtedly have long been a great part of our lives. In my view, contrary to its original objective of " spreading factual news to people", the media nowadays do more harm than good.

Television and the press, whether conventional or online-based, have influenced virtually every aspect of our lives. News can leave audiences with different impressions about life around the world. Via a few news articles, people can learn about how beautiful Japan is in springtime or how lively HongKong is at night. It is also common to find articles on how miserable people are at wars, how bad the living conditions are, or how unstable the political situation is in some certain area, for example, Syria, Pakistan, Iraq etc. Furthermore, too much news coverage of terrorism, wars, killings and racism can be found every new site on the internet, and its impact is so strong that it causes great distress to citizens and can incite violence among many individuals. Besides, our perceptions and perspectives are likely to be manipulated by the news media, for they are our only resource of information. Indeed, we form our opinions about a particular event based on what we gather from media reports, regardless of the degree of authenticity. Distorted news leads to distorted minds, social unrest, unjust judgment and global conflicts; which all take their roots from distorted news.

Notwithstanding, we can not deny the benefits of media news brings. While negative news can generate depression or sense of sorrows, good news can produce contagious positivity in each person, encourage courses of action that can be advantageous to oneself or a whole country. They help people capture the events happening every day on the world and it is no exaggeration to say that the media have become our extended eyes and ears. A day without reading a paper or surfing the internet and we would be completely ignorant of what is happening in the surrounding world.

In conclusion, I believe that the news media has a direct influence on our minds and lives, and it appears to be detrimental to our way of thinking. Therefore, people need to make good judgments over what they read in their daily newspaper.