Nowadays the crime rate is increasing, especially among teenagers. What are the reasons behind it? How can we reverse this trend? What punishment methods should be used, in your opinion?

The past few decades have witnessed an increase in the crime rate, particularly among adolescents. It is time we analyzed the root causes of this problem and outline some feasible solutions to it.

The most frequent cause of this phenomenon is the lack of care from family. Nowadays, it is obvious that adults spend much more time on financial concerns, especially earning money. Therefore, the amount of time they spend on their children will decline day by day. As a result, this leads to the misunderstanding between children and adults which stems from the fact that parents do not understand children’s feelings as well as their thoughts. In addition, parents are not able to control activities which children participate in. Consequently, youngsters easily fall into criminal ways. In fact, according to a report from the Children’s Commissioner in England, there were 27,000 children who considered themselves to be a member of a street gang. When being interviewed, they said that they had had serious arguments with their parents because of different opinions about some fields. Hence, the shortage of parental care is the main reason for this problem.

Having identified the root of the problem, a good remedy to cope with this situation is that parents must take children’s feelings into consideration. Adults should spend more time sharing their personal attitudes with children as well as join in some activities with them to improve their belief. In addition, they also need to monitor children and teach them how to identify the wrong thing from the right. This is shown by the following examples. A 14-year-old boy who was born in a wealthy family had an intention to join in a street gang with his friends. However, his father did not know about that, he had never cared about his son’s thoughts. Fortunately, his mother realized some unusual problems in his opinion. Subsequently, she decided to put her work aside and started spending more time making personal conversations as well as taking part in a sports match with him. Eventually, she brought her son back to the right lifestyle. Obviously, to tackle this problem, parents should take actions to prevent the crime rate from continuing to go up.

In conclusion, there are indeed various repercussions regarding the growth of crimes, yet, they can be solved according to measures I listed.