Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization.Why might this be the case?What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In the current era, one of the most debated issues is the professionalism of people. It is evident that large number of people prefer to be entrepreneurs, in lieu of joining a company. This essay will discuss the reasons and demerits of self-employment.

To begin with, there are several reasons for entrepreneurship. The first and foremost aspect to point out in this context is that in many countries the government encourages its citizens to become entrepreneurs. They launched certain incentive schemes which are helpful for people who wish to start their own business. To exemplify, since the government of India launched the "Start-Up India" campaign, many citizens wish to start their own company. The second point in this regard is that nowadays many universities and colleges introduced several courses which offer knowledge and skills to their students in the context of how to build a new business in an innovative way. For instance, Indian Institute of Management, popularly known as IIM is well known for entrepreneur courses.\

However, a few disadvantages can be highlighted. The first of these would be a high capital requirement. Certain businesses need high capital to run their company. If money is not poured as and when required, it might create problems for the business. The second negative point is that business has more risk as compared to the job. If business strategies would not go in favor, a person has to bear the heavy financial loss.

To conclude, people can start their own business after having proper knowledge about it. A person should do proper research before starting a business and try to make it successful.