Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

In some countries, students in the university could now be able to select their own subjects which resulted in the lacks of science knowledge among graduate students. In this essay, I will be discussing the causes and the effects of it toward the society of this topical problem.

There are several reasons for the changes in the way learners choose their subjects. Firstly, universities are now focused on developing the student’s future career to reduce the unemployment rate of the city. Secondly, some foreign students find science lessons quite difficult for them to follow because different countries have their different ways of teaching science. Thus, the fail percentage of these lessons often are very high and their students could not be able to graduate, so the university decided to turn it into optional subjects. Thirdly, most learners go to the university only to have a better job opportunity when they graduated. As a result, they only want to learn subjects which will be helpful for their future career.

Moreover, the lacks of science subjects in the list of compulsory courses had led to some consequences for the society. The shortage of human resources such as professors or researchers in the lab is one of the main reasons which could delay the development of the society. Furthermore, the disappearance of several jobs which require knowledge about physics or chemist such as making electronic components could be a huge loss for the community because these jobs are the foundation of other jobs. For example, in my country there are only a few learners chose Physics lessons when they were studying at their university so we had to import plenty of electronic parts from other countries.

In conclusion, while there are many factors which turned science subjects into an optional choice among university students, it is undeniable that this change will make a considerable impact on the community.