Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, media give excessive coverage to negative news and overlook the positive aspects of the world. Some people opine that this emphasis on negativity has an adverse impact on people and the society. I agree with this view to some extent. Negative news cannot be ignored. It certainly deserves media attention; meanwhile good news should also get adequate coverage.

Media houses give too much importance to stories of crime, violence and other problems because they have a shock value. They easily capture the attention of the reader or the viewer. Since media is constantly striving to attract more eyeballs, they highlight these stories. Unfortunately, when people hear only about bad things happening around them, they develop a pessimistic attitude towards life. They develop trust issues and begin to feel unsafe even inside their homes. They lose faith in their governments and start thinking that they are doomed. This is bad because the world really is not such a bad place.

On the other hand, media cannot overlook bad news. Media is the voice of the public and as such it is their duty to highlight the problems plaguing the society. Only then will the authorities wake up and do something to resolve the issues. Also, by reporting crimes and other negative stories, media can urge people to take adequate safety precautions. Meanwhile, positive news should get adequate attention. It is important for newspapers and televisions channels to highlight stories of courage, fortitude, ambition, perseverance and achievements. Such stories motivate people and encourage them to strive hard to achieve their goals.

To conclude, media should give adequate attention to both positive and negative stories. People should be aware of the happenings around them whether they are good or bad.