In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe that the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Recently, the question of how to spend public money has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that improving local public transportation systems should be a priority, while others argue otherwise. And I wholeheartedly agree with the former stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that it might be beneficial to invest in the construction of a new, faster railway system do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that establishing new railway lines could facilitate the country-wide transportation of people and goods. This would mean, for instance, that people with relatives living in other parts of the country could see each other with greater ease and parcels could be delivered more quickly. Another argument is that there might be a boom in domestic tourism, stimulating regional economies. Given these points, some people hold the view that building cross-country railway lines should take priority over improving existing public transport.

My opinion, however, is that the benefits of developing local and existing public transport are more significant. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that local transport systems tend to play a greater role in citizens' everyday life, such as commuting to and from work. In other words, an increase in the quality of these systems would have a more significant impact on people's wellbeing. Furthermore, an astronomical amount of money is required to set up faster railway systems, compared to reforming existing transport systems. To exemplify, research conducted by the government of China has demonstrated the amount of tax money spent on the building of new bullet train lines is predicted three times higher than on updating current transport systems. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that upgrading current public transport is more worthwhile than constructing a faster railway system for the reasons discussed above.