The number of people being sent to prison is increasing year on year While some people believe prisons are the best way to tackle crime others suggest that community service is successful Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Nowadays, the soaring crime rate becomes one of the most pressing concerns. According to this phenomenon, a school of thought believes that prisons play vital role in declining the number of criminals whereas some people argue that community service is the best way to combat crime. This essay will shed light on both views before presenting personal perspective.

On the one hand, it is indispensable the importance of prisons in the process of preventing law-breakers. Firstly, when the government imposes strict law to maintain the position of society, as a result, the number of people who break the law will be controlled by means of arresting. In fact, prisons act a deterrent to limit inhabitants who have wrong thoughts. Furthermore, living in prisons also teaches imprisoners moral lessons to encourage them rehabilitating with community as well as develop individual skills to make ends meet. Take Africa as a typical example, due to the appearance of prisons, the crime rate has a tendency to remarkably decrease, from 16.9% in 2000 to 8.7% over a period of 20 years.

On the other hand, I completely agree with the idea of utilizing community service to tackle with crime for several reasons. This is mainly because the power of moral through community service can have an enormous and far-reaching influence on the awareness of people. In comparison with solving by law, such measures contribute to construct knowledge, understanding and adjust behaviors of citizens to live harmony with other people and minimize the number of wrongdoers. In addition, the cost of community service is much lower than that of prisons in the long term. Instead of allocating governmental budget to building prisons, national authorities are likely to use this gigantic money to educational curriculum to raise inhabitants' consciousness.

In conclusion, despite numerous benefits brought by prison method, I strongly approve the action of community service to deal with the current crime rate.