As the number of private cars has increased, so too has the level of pollution in many cities. What can be done to tackle this common problem?

The increase in private cars has been highlighted as an emerging issue that maybe escaping broader public attention.

Given that the issue has the potential for significant environmental impacts, finding solutions is key to mitigating this trend.

Individuals should be involved in tackling this pattern. First, the government and the press should work together to publicize and broadcast the information on how harmful the using of cars is to the living environment and humans' health. This, therefore, raises the awareness of citizens, which then decreases the demand of personal vehicles, particularly cars. Second, in case the effects of the media are not strong enough, policy makers can justify the costs of using cars in efforts to put car drivers' finance in jeopardy, which acts as a deterrent for people to drive or buy a car as a result. For example, some nations have taken steps to make the price of consuming gasoline harder to afford, minimizing the number of cars running on the roads.

Not only individuals, car manufacturers should also be hold responsible for this issue. In fact, levying higher tax on the production of cars is conducive to governmental control on the amount of cars. For instance, due to paying exorbitant tax, many small car companies were forced to stop their business, which reduced cars and therefore protected the environment. In addition, if the government limits the quantity of cars one corporation can produce monthly, the car supply will fall considerably, followed by the decline in peoples demand of private vehicles. This would not only save costs for the government but also lessen the traffic jam that can be damaging to the cities' atmosphere.

In conclusion, even though the proliferation of private cars seems inevitable in today's world, there are various ways to restrict this trend. Enhancing individuals' awareness and controlling car manufacturers can be two of the most useful ways to solve the problem.