Parents are putting a lot of pressure on their children to succeed. Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent years, parents are putting pressure on children to become successful. I believe it is a positive development and will explain the reasons in this essay.

Some parents believe that success can provide their children a brighter future because it can ensure children’s ability to survive independently, without relying on the assistance of parents. Due to their concern for children's independence, parents might put a lot of pressure on them. Parents give advice and even force their own children to follow the paths that they have designated just to be certain of future success. For example, there are some cases of successful children coming from strict families, where their parents force them to follow their own plans or put pressure on them to study and work hard. Through the pressure from parents, they can be able to live independently and thrive in their career when they grow up.

Another reason relating to this development is that parents do not want their children to feel like losers compared to other peers. Success can be a measurement that people use to show their superiority towards others. By becoming successful in life, children will not feel inferior to their peers, therefore feeling more confident in life. Therefore, to prevent children’s disbelief in themselves, some parents might force them to work or study diligently to become more successful than peers. Afterwards, this pressure from parents might actually help children believe in themselves more instead of harming them.

In conclusion, I think that this phenomenon can be beneficial because success can ensure children’s ability to rely on themselves and their confidence in life.