In the past, many people had skills such as making their own clothes and doing repair to things in the house. IN many countries, nowadays, skills like these are disappearing. Why do you think this change is happening? How far is this situation true to you

It is true that people nowadays lacking many skills, which people in the past had. This essay checks the possible reasons for this trend. And I too depend on service centers to do small repair works, which I can do alone.

To begin with, in the past people did small repair works in their houses by themselves. However, nowadays people do not do these small works and they are doing it with the local shops this is happening mainly due to two reasons. First of all, nowadays people busier than the people in the past. They have a lot of responsibilities in the workplace as well as at the home. The relentless work schedule makes them abstain from the skilled jobs, which our ancient generation did. For example, an engineer who does work from morning 6 am to 6 pm does not have enough time to do his household repair works. Another important reason is people became addicted to laziness and sedentary lifestyle. The youngsters nowadays more interested in social networking sites and TV programs. They never have the time and interest to do small household repairing works.

I think, I too affected with this social stigma. Being a member of the modern society I am also not interested in taking the initiative of doing small skilled works in my house. I usually call a technician in the nearest workshop to get things done. This is mainly because I work 12 hours per day and hardly get any time to look after the repair works in my house. Secondly, being a member of the modern society I am experienced in my own profession only, the other small but skilled jobs I never tried.

To conclude, the current generation not interested in taking up the small and skilled jobs in the household due to above-mentioned reasons and I personally affected negatively with this trend.