People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

In recent times, it is apparent that society has witnessed an exponential increase in terms of sugar-based beverage consumption. This can happen for a host of reasons, prominent of which is the advancement and development of advertising, or the packaging of those types of drinks. However, this problem doesn’t remain unsolved as there is a range of possible solutions to this problem. In this essay, the reasons and solutions will be further elucidated.

To begin with, it is undeniable that the growing prevalence of sugary drinks is partly courtesy of advertisement. With the help of social media, influencer and celebrity endorsements have become more ubiquitous, which can help to boost the consumption of sweetened beverages. This can be effective as many people seem to be easily persuaded by famous and influential individuals and some dedicated fanatics might want to support their favorite influencers in this way, too. One salient justification for this is the Monster energy drink, advertised by famous YouTubers like Pewdiepie, is likely to receive more attention from people. Another respect that may contribute to the accumulating sale and consumption of sugary drinks is the packaging. It is of the high possibility that people would buy those beverages on impulse at a greater level if the packaging is visually stimulating.

Nevertheless, reducing sugar-based drink consumption is not an impossibility. One of the possible solutions is to impose a tax on sugary drinks and decrease the price of healthy ones. This can increase the price which might make people think twice before buying those products and possibly turn to more healthy beverages at cheaper price tiers like green tea or fruit juice. Last but not least, raising people’s awareness about the dangers lurking under the trend of excessively using sugary drinks can help decreasing consumption. Billboards and posters should also appear more to educate people about this matter, and therefore increase healthy eating and lifestyle.

To recapitulate, the advertisement is the principal reason behind why people are consuming more and more sugary drinks. Despite this, there are various actions that can be taken to discourage people from using those kinds of beverages.