People attend colleges or universities for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge etc.)

Nowadays, university admission has been one of the most significant parts of students' life in order to acquire knowledge or better job opportunities. It is clear that there would be much more reasons that conduct students for further education which we will discuss throughout this essay.

First of all, one of the most important reasons for attending university might be the essence of having certificates for jobs. It means, better job prospects and higher incomes require higher education. According to my personal experience, when I was a university student, I could not be employed in prestigious companies due to the fact that I did not finish my education and the company needs a certificate for recruitment. Furthermore, not only are certificates beneficial for career opportunities but also act as a proof of person's qualifications. For instance, in some job interviews regardless how you would be able to answer the technical questions, they seek for university certificate as an evidence for approval.

Secondly, there is some other reason such as parent's obligation that leads students to further education and university enrollments. In many cultures high educational level of youngsters is extremely important for families which mean parents provide any necessity for their children's education that makes avoiding further education become less acceptable to them. For instance, a scientific research has asserted that children in developing countries face a lot of pressure related to their educational issues because of their parents' expectations. Moreover, there would be some other factors such as peer pressure rather than parents caused youth to further education. For illustration, those students with no specific goals might follow their peers and attend university as an imitation action, not for particular achievements. Hence, it is correct to presume that in some cultures and societies there are some irrational reasons for higher education such as parents or peer pressure.

To conclude, although there are several reasons for attending colleges and universities such as improving knowledge or better job prospects, continuing education has some other less popular reasons. Therefore, it might be because of a piece of paper like certificate or parent's pressure for further education.