People say that it is a waste of time for high school students to learn literature such as novels and poems. Do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought holds that teaching literature in high school is not needed because it wastes time for students. While I accept that this perception is somewhat justifiable, I believe that it is of paramount importance for students to learn this kind of mandatory subject based on the main reason discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, it is difficult for high schoolers to put literature into practice because it contains a large amount of theoretical knowledge. In particular, most novels and poems in educational systems are written by writers in another century and contexts, which is fundamentally different from the present teenager’s world. For example, the best seller of all time Odysseys discussed the hero does not exist in the real-life and possess many unsuitable characteristics and background such as always having a sense of violence and always using physical strength to fight another enemy, which can not be put into the current world prone to peaceful civilization.

On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as I am convinced that it is needed to have literature. Firstly, the setting of the character’s background in each book helps high schoolers to sympathize and have moral orientations. As a result, by learning moral lessons underlying in this novel, children are proactive to take part in charity campaigns or help underprivileged people. Secondly, literature can be a place for youngsters to improve their imagination and creativity. For instance, by disguising their preferred characters' in-class activities, they might have prepared their rehearsals, planned ideas of creating a successful performance, and been happy when they receive a round of applause from the audience.

In conclusion, although I agree that novels and poems seem not to have practical value, I would stand on the second view that literature could be a necessary subject in high school because of two main reasons that come from the sense of empathy and reinforcing young people’s creativity.