A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

These days, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on the opinion that an individual’s value is assessed only based on their social hierarchy and property rather than their dignity. Personally, I believe that moral values should be the key to making judgement about a person.

To commence with, social prestige and material goods do not necessarily show that people are perfect in every aspect. It is because these things are just the outside image that people build up in order to attract the public’s attention and increase their own personal reputation, thus gaining a better and more enjoyable life. Moreover, not everyone who lives in luxury can always behave in the right way. Some influential people may take advantage of their being popular to make profit for themselves over the community’s benefits. For example, when a region’s residents were struggling with flood, people from all parts of the country donated money by banking to some celebrities in the belief that their money could make its value. However, these celebrities did not meet people’s expectations by keeping the money in secret for a long time, which deserved to becriticized when coming to light.

Furthermore, ethical dignity is more important to decide whether to pay respect to a person. It may be due to the fact that morals play a role as a compass in a person’s life which helps people to achieve their goals in the right track without being lost into materialism. As a result, these people can both gain their own success and serve as a good member of the community. In addition, there has been a saying: “a clean fast is better than a dirty breakfast” that means people who do not living in lavishness but still behave properly in the public should be respected by other people.

To conclude, I can say in affirmative that high social status and richness alone cannot tell everything about people and therefore, should never be the prior criterion to judge anyone. Instead, I believe moral values such as honesty and kindness will be treasured and placed as the most important factor in assessing other people.