" Prevention is better than cure". Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures.

Discuss both sides.

The author of statement proposes that it would be more fruitful if we focus on preventing diseases rather than curing them. It is an interesting hypothesis. However, I strongly disagree, since it overlooks the principles of scientific development and other possible scenarios as well.

First, It is simply impossible to prevent a disease when one does not have any clue of its workings. Researchers spend years, decades researching on a various pathogens, bacteria that are detrimental to human physiology. As a result of their grueling work, we have successfully eradicated diseases that have haunted humanity for time immemorial. However, this is exactly what the statement overlooks. It is easier to find a solution to a problem if you know and understand the problem. Let us consider an example. We have all heard, or read about the deadly Ebola disease, for which we have yet to find a cure. Now the question that needs to be answered is-- how can one prevent Ebola from spreading if one simply does not understand how it works and its genetic material? In this case research is well suited and a must.

Second, Preventive measures can lead to newer problems. Let us consider another example. Recently the hot button topic in medical community was 'Superbugs'. Superbugs are pathogens, more precisely bacteria, which grew resilient to medicines, which were designed to stop them from spreading diseases. The reason for this unfortunate development is, as stated by several studies and medical experts, that we took the preventive measures, in this case anti-biotics, way too far. Now we need new way to deal with this new type of threat.

In conclusion, we can see that the proverb mentioned by the author is reduced to mere platitude, owing to the scientific advancements. It is very important that we focus on the research and development of our medical technology, since it has served us well and it will continue to serve us for foreseeable future.