Psychologists have known for many years that color can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals.

How true is this statement?

How far does color influence people’s health and capacity for work?

It is stated that people's feelings can be affected by color, which leads to certain types of buildings being painted with specific color schemes. Although color, to some extent, has an impact on people's health and ability to work, the statement above is not entirely true.

Research has shown that color can affect people in various ways. In terms of health, warm-colored placebos possess better alleviated illnesses than cool-colored ones. Since ancient times, people have developed chromotherapy, which involves using colors to treat health problems. In this kind of treatment, indigo shades are utilized to soothe skin problems, and orange helps to heal the lungs. Moreover, when it comes to the capacity for work, orange is believed to increase energy levels, besides yellow and red. Researchers also found red associated with greater speed and force, which increase productivity.

However, those effects are exaggerated and cannot be applied to everyone as humans are influenced by numerous factors. In fact, color just accounts for a minuscule portion of the overall extrinsic facet. Many individuals, for example, are sensitive and reactive to weather as even a small change in the state of weather can cause them tiredness and even sickness. What is of the most importance is the intrinsic motivation. Regardless of the surrounding environment, the ones who possess dogged determination are believed to achieve the finest health and career status of all.

In brief, color does boost health and work capacity, but it cannot dominate other factors. Therefore, it is essential to work out the crucial elements to improve our performance in life.