By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilty of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Murder has dramatically increased recently, which has many controversial opinions about whether the murders should be punished by death penalty or life in prison. I will discuss both views.

On the one hand, the death penalty will prevent others from murdering and danger. First and foremost, some murderers have tendency to commit crimes again after releasing from prison. It is really dangerous for society in the future as they are able to continue to convict murders, thus, many a person is likely to be killed. Secondly, the cost of imprisonment such as food, clothes, etc coming from annual resident’s tax seems money-consuming for them while capital punishment is better to save expenses for education, healthcare systems and so on. Therefore, life in prison can not pose threat to murderers more than capital punishment

On the other hand, instead of the usage of death penalty, people should put them on prison. First of all, capital punishment is such a violent action that people oppose that living is one of the basic rights of humans, we have no right to take another human life. Thus, putting them on probation is better. Next, death seems to be a light punishment for murders, life in prison makes them undergo the period of time of regret, boredom, fright and tiredness. These metal pains won’t set them free until they die in prison. Consequently, prison is a better option to make murders regret.

In conclusion, personally, in some cases, murderers commit crimes without any previous plans. Although murderers must be punished strictly, I strongly believe that people should take their situations into consideration before judgement.