Q2 Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes for example working for a charity improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Recently, the issue of young people's education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that secondary school students should not be forced to undertake unpaid community service, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from obligatory volunteering for teenagers. Perhaps the principal benefit is students participating in voluntary activities makes it possible for students to realise the importance of helping socially disadvantaged people, which can even lead them not only to feel a sense of belonging to society but also strengthen social bonds. In addition, adolescents attending mandatory voluntary work are capable of developing interpersonal skills that will be invaluable in their future career considering that the majority of companies have a predisposition to hire job seekers who are able to empathise with others.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that obliging youngsters to partake in voluntary work merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that devotion to volunteering often cause students to experience high levels of stress as it often deprives them of a huge amount of time that can be spent taking part in leisure activities helping them unwind. Moreover, obligatory voluntary activities prevent adolescents from concentrating on their studies. In other words, having less time to revise for their exams due to dedication to volunteering exerts a detrimental influence on their academic performance. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.