Q2 Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of young people's education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that secondary school students should not be required to undertake unpaid community service, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

​On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from mandatory volunteering for teenagers. Perhaps the principal benefit is that attending voluntary activities makes it possible for the youth to learn the importance of supporting socially disadvantaged people. As a result, not only can they feel a sense of belonging to society but they are also capable of strengthening social bonds. In addition, adolescents attending obligatory voluntary work are able to develop interpersonal skills that will be invaluable in their future career given that the majority of large companies have a predisposition to hire job seekers who are competent at empathising with others.

​On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that mandatory volunteering for minors merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that forcing young people to take part in voluntary activities often causes them to experience high levels of stress considering that it deprives them of a chance to participate in leisure activities helping them unwind. Furthermore, voluntary work can exert a negative influence on students' academic performance as devotion to volunteering often prevents them from spending a huge amount of time revising for their exams. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

​In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.