Q3 : Human activities have negative effects on plants and animal species. Some people think that it is too late to do anything about this problem. Other people believe that effective measures can be taken to improve this situation. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the impact of human activities on animals and plants has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that if humans make an effort, they can prevent living creatures, including animals and plants, from disappearing, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that people cannot make it possible for animals and plants not to become extinct do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that human beings have exploited a myriad of natural habitats for themselves without taking into account environmental degradation. As an illustration, a natural heritage site designated by UNESCO in South Korea had numerous endangered species of birds in the year 2010. However, according to an article released by the Seoul Times, the majority of these species died out in 2015, and it turned out that the main reason for this phenomenon was an astronomical amount of garbage generated by travellers which posed a threat to the environment.

My opinion, however, is that mankind is capable of protecting animals and plants. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that not only are a multitude of governments across the globe investing a vast sum of money in a bid to mitigate the speed of global warming that exerts a detrimental influence on animals and plants, but they are also implementing various campaigns raising awareness amongst the public in order to warn of the dangers of the extinction of animals and plants. In addition, individuals can play a vital role in keeping biodiversity. If a large number of everyday people participate in recycling, a huge quantity of domestic waste will be reduced, which will enable both animals and plants to live a longer life. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that if every sector of our society makes a concerted effort, humans can conserve animals and plants for the reasons discussed above.