Q4. Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the effect of social media has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that social networking services negatively affect everyday people as well as society, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from the development of social platforms. Perhaps the principal benefit is that the introduction of social media has revolutionised the way people communicate with one another regardless of time and place. In other words, users are capable of sending messages to their friends and family members anywhere and at any time with greater ease considering that having access to the Internet is the sole requirement. In addition, people are able to share their common interests with their acquaintances on social media, making it possible for them to build strong relationships with each other.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that the advancement of social networking services merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that minors who are generally less able to distinguish right from wrong are more likely to become exposed to crimes given that offenders can easily target them by creating numerous fake profiles. This can even lead to an increase in abduction, which exerts a detrimental influence on society. Furthermore, a multitude of employees and students who lack self-control can become addicted to social platforms. To be more specific, excessive use of social networking sites often prevents workers and pupils from concentrating on their work or studies, which can negatively influence their work or academic performance. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.