Q5 In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe that the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Recently, the question of how to spend public money has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that improving current public transport should take precedence over establishing new railway systems for bullet trains, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from erecting new railway lines for bullet trains. Proponents of this argument insist that bullet trains could facilitate the nationwide transport of goods and people. To be more specific, not only can people with relatives living in other parts of the country meet each other with greater ease, but parcels are also able to be delivered quickly. In addition, the advent of new railway systems contributes to a boom in domestic tourism, invigorating economic growth. As a result, local residents are more likely to land a job in the field of the tourism industry.

My opinion, however, is that more emphasis should be placed on ameliorating existing public transport than building railway lines for bullet trains. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that current public transport systems play a greater role in citizens' daily life considering that a myriad of the masses use these systems on a regular basis in order to commute to and from work or school.

Thus, the updating of current public transport can contribute to an increase in the individuals' quality of life. Furthermore, an astronomical sum of money is needed to construct new railway lines for bullet trains, compared to reforming existing transport systems. As an illustration, one recent study conducted by the government of China has demonstrated that the amount of tax money spent in building new bullet train lines is predicted three times higher than in upgrading current transport systems. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that enhancing current public transport should be a priority for the reasons discussed above.