QQQQQQQQQQQ2

Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes ( for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of young people's education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that secondary school students should be forced to undertake unpaid community service, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from obligatory volunteering for teenagers. Perhaps the principal benefit is that voluntary work can make it possible for teenagers to develop skills, such as maturity and problem-solving abilities, which will be invaluable in their studies and future careers. In addition, participating in voluntary activities can allow youngsters to obtain not only a sense of responsibility but also social skills. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for mandatory volunteering, pupils would be less likely to strengthen social bonds.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that voluntary work merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that voluntary activities can cause students to become more stressed given that devotion to compulsory community service often occupies a huge amount of time that would otherwise be spent on their studies. In other words, having less time to revise for the exam leads to an increase in the level of stress. Furthermore, mandatory charitable work deprives students of a chance to partake in leisure activities helping them unwind. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.