Reading books keeps a person’s mind active, whereas watching films and television is passive and does not require a person to use their imagination.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some believe that reading books is one way of maintaning an active mind, something that movies and programs is televisions can not do so as they are more passive. However, in my opinion, I agree that books keep the mind active but disagree that watching films and televisions does not require imagination.

Books have always been an important tool in enhancing the minds of a lot of people. As a matter of fact, no one has ever graduated from primary school without being able to read a book, thus shows how essential books are in developing the way we think. In addition, the things you learn from reading books keep increasing as you continue to read more even during aging years. That is why a mind full of ideas and knowledge is a mind that does not stop from learning. One of the Philippines' heroes Dr. Jose Rizal is one of the people who believed in exercising the ability of minds to think clearly through book reading.

Watching films and television on the other hand is also an important method of learning. Nowadays, stories from books are later on being made into movies as it just not entertain people but nourish minds as well. One of the most popular and favorite movie series of all time is The Harry Potter which has been watched by billions of people all over the world, irregardless of age. It is thought that as you watch films or TV programs, you tend to imagine and believe on your capabilities. Aside from stories, films also bring more colors to minds. For instance, a lot of educational programs today are being used in schools such as Nat Geo Kids.

In conclusion, the more books are read, the more minds are being developed. Also, by watching films and television, one's imagination continues to widen. Therefore, both plays an important role in honing every one to be a more knowledgeable and critical thinker.