With the rise of ebooks comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good forward step while others do not. What are advantages and disadvantages of this trend? Which do you support?

The need for knowledge inspires people to hunt for information and books are the best the place to look for them. With the advancement in technology, more people prefer to carry the digitalized version of a book. However, there are some book lovers who are against with the growing trend of e-books. This essay discusses the advantages and disadvantages and comes at a conclusion.

The ever-increasing popularity of e-books has caught the attention of book lovers as it is more convenient to carry around. In the past, people had to endure the difficulty of carrying a big bulky book in their backpacks if they wanted to read while commuting from one place to another. That problem has been erased as loads of books can be stored within a smartphone or a tablet device and can be read whenever they want. Another major bonus is that digitalized books give people the availability to download free books either in e-pub format or the Kindle format without even having to pay a single penny. Therefore, e-books are more of a blessing in disguise to avid readers.

If online books are read for longer durations in a device they damage the reader's eyes and also at the same time can form wrinkles on their face because of longer exposure to ultraviolet rays. Another disadvantage is that hard books would lose their value and this can badly impact the local libraries as people would stop visiting for issuing books. Also, the feeling one gets from reading an original copy can never be replaced as compared to reading e-books. So, e-books are replacing the authenticity of a hard book.

In conclusion, e-books are much handier and free of cost at the same time, the tradition of going to a library to purchase a book ceases. After weighing both the merits and demerits, I opine that e-books are far better because of the portability and the wide range of books that are available for free.