In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts while boys like science. What are the reasons for this trend and do you think this tendency should be changed?

It is true that in the academic environment, girls have a tendency of learning arts while boys are on side of science. There are some factors for this trend need analyzing.

Among various reasons for this trend, prejudice and inequality are the most explicit ones. Firstly, young girls are often considered emotional, profound and easily sympathy with surroundings while boys are taught to become strong, enthusiastic and confident. As a result, at the early stage, adults encourage girls to participate indoor activities like drawing, writing, and acting; however, by contrast, they require boys to enjoy outdoor activities like hunting insects, flying kites, building artifact houses...In long term, children believe that acts show feminine and exploring activities show masculine and they tend to choose subjects based on their prejudices. Besides, the inequality is a contributor to their decisions at school. It is true that, in a family, women often do the household chores while men take the responsibility of earning a living. Meanwhile, jobs of arts allow people to work in a flexible timetable and ones related science are lucrative occupations. Therefore, girls seem to choose arts to facilitate their marriage life later while boys like science to have prosperity in the future.

For this above reasons, I am convinced that this negative trend should be altered. The first reason for changing this negative tendency is that I believe people are free to choose what career what they want to succeed as well as what subjects they want to follow without the interference of society. In reality, there are plenty of girls innate born with logical ability while numerous boys are talented in drawing or acting. Their talents should be acknowledged and grown up to create innovations for the humanity. In addition to, when young students are free to choose subjects, the inequality would be gradually eradicated. Women are no longer be weak or depend on men while men are no longer hide their emotions and pretend as strong.

In conclusion, unreasonable social norms are mainly responsible for choosing subjects of children a and apparently, this trend should be changed for the personal developments.