In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts while boys like science. What are the reasons for this trend and do you think this tendency should be changed?

There has been a marked difference in subject preferences between girls, who often enrol in arts-based courses, and boys, who select science subjects to study. There are a number of factors that may cause this issue including cognitive differences and chance of success in the two fields between two sexes, and I personally believe that it is unnecessary to apply changes to this tendency.

The aforementioned situation can be attributed to gender-specific characteristics and ability. Firstly, girls are often patient and careful, so they are attracted to subjects that require tremendous self-discipline and patience such as language classes while male students are often more intelligent and better at logical thought, therefore, they suitable with several considerable analytical fields to excel at, for example, maths or physics. These differences suggest distinct career opportunities for science and arts, so boys and girls both want to pursue the path where they have more competency. In fact, the U.S' Psychology Science Public Internet publication shows evidence of different career advancement between males and females in the science field, with males being more successful.

In my view, it is rather unnecessary to make changes to this trend. Initially, students opt for different environments where they can best cultivate their aptitude. In addition, if they were obliged to take part in unwanted classes, it would cause negative outcomes, especially lost interest in learning. Furthermore, freedom of choice to decide should be respected. To be more specific, students should be allowed to select their favourite subjects, regardless of gender, so that they can feel that they are respected and listened.

In conclusion, there are some elements contributing to the subject preference of student. This, however, makes sense to remain unchanged.