Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language. Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?

Learning languages is of paramount importance to the sustainable development of the international community. Many people argue that one language will be used as an international language in the future. I contend that such a development would have many advantages.

There is a common fallacy that the use of one language as an international language may exert a negative impact on many countries. Many linguists claim that a universal language may replace local dialects, bringing minority languages to the verge of extinction and threatening global language diversity. However, I believe that such a claim is an exaggeration. First, in reality, despite the role of English as a common language across most countries in the world, less common languages are being preserved well at present. This can be seen in the case of the Irish language, which was spoken by as little as 5% of the population of Ireland in the latter half of the 20th century. This language is now increasingly popular in Ireland as a result of the tireless efforts of the Irish government to promote its use in recent years. Another important point is that the popularity of one international language does not necessarily mean the waning usage of other languages. An excellent example of this is that English is being spoken as the second language in many countries where the mother tongues are still dominant in everyday communication.

I am of the opinion that the universality of one language is of great benefit to the development of the world. The primary reason is that in today’s context of globalization and international integration, the use of one common language promotes mutual understanding between those who come from different geographical and cultural backgrounds. As a result, international trade may grow, which would benefit all nations that choose to engage in this process. Another significant reason is that when language barriers are removed, all learners may have access to a wealth of knowledge written exclusively in other languages, and they have the opportunity to become experts in a variety of areas. This may help every country to build a stronger intellectual workforce, which could act as the catalyst for long-term global development.

In brief, one may conclude that the use of one international language is not necessarily disadvantageous. There are clear advantages of having a universal language, such as the growth of international trade and the development of a stronger intellectual workforce in every country.