Shopping is dangerous because it makes people selfish and careless with money. Do you agree or disagree?

Shopping behavior of people has changed since the introduction of contemporary era. However, some people consider it disadvantageous as they believe it is waste of money. Both the outlooks will be critiqued before reaching a reasoned conclusion.

Some people opine that shopping is an activity which makes people spendthrift. As we can see, Many thing are being bought daily, most of which are useless. So, It could be better to spend same money on other essential things like education, business and savings so that future can be made bright and secure as it is truly said that “A penny saved is a penny earned”. Hence, it is not wise to spend money on trivial activity, called shopping.

Moreover, a person who starts to do shopping become addicted to it. Most of the youngsters are indulged in this activity and they demand for more and more money from their parents. It gives birth to a sense of selfishness. In many cases, large amount loans and debts are being taken by people to satisfy their thirst of shopping. Ultimately, People get crushed under the burden of debt and take wrong steps. Many suicides are committed by people, nowadays, just because they are unable to repay the money which they had taken in the form of a loan.

On the other hand, some people assert that shopping has become essential part of their life. In these days of modern era, there are many professions in which people have to keep themselves up-to-date to compete with each other. In addition, social status is given to every person according to amount of shopping he does. So, it is need of hour.

In a nutshell, after discussing both the aspects I come to conclusion that pros of shopping are outweighed by its cons. We should not be too much inclined towards it as it is true that “Cut your coat according to cloth”.