Should computers and tablets completely replace books in schools and universities?

Write an essay giving your opinion.

It has been suggested that technological appliances such as computers and tablets should take over the role of books in academic institutes. In my opinion, this suggestion is impractical and should not be implemented.

Advocates of this idea argue that these electronic devices provide much greater use than printed materials. For instance, they update information faster, store greater quantities of data and permit access to the Internet for further online research which are the essential limitations of traditional means of storing information that are books. In addition, it is also observable that for such convenience, in modern times, books no longer retain their appeal to readers as they used to, which is witnessed by the drastic decrease in book sales. Therefore, computers and tablets are bound to replace the hard copies of words in schools and universities.

Although I acknowledge the validity of these ideas, I believe they are outweighed by two powerful arguments. To begin with, replacing books with high-tech devices in education facilities is a risky choice for the fact that it requires exhaustive financial resources to purchase these appliances. In Vietnam, a similar proposition was introduced to the National Congress but was denied for costing half of the national development budget to initiate such transformation without any definite guarantee for its results. Moreover, it is evident that the prevalence of highly advanced technological machines acts a catalyst to the spreading deterioration of public health. That people become couch potatoes and suffer from visual impairment owing to the excessive use of computers has been regularly featured in national news reports in recent years.

In conclusion, albeit boasting certain advantages, modern technological devices such as tablets and computers should not be encouraged to be present as the main storage of information in schools and universities.