The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a notion that modern society would receive certain advantages as a result of prohibiting advertisement, which is claimed to be meaningless and even harmful. Personally, I totally disagree with this statement.

For a variety of reasons, the ban on advertising can even detrimentally affect society. To begin with, as global economy has advanced in leaps and bounds, the majority of products, tangible and non-tangible, are widely advertised on diverse platforms, such as social media. In other words, this development has generated heaps of employment opportunities for people, especially those who show interest in marketing and advertisement. Hence, this policy may take numerous jobs away from people in the community, prompting a surge of unemployment rate consequently. For instance, in Viet Name, a large number of individuals are currently employed in marketing and advertising industry. Therefore, an official ban on advertisement can cause labour lay-off on a large scale, leaving many unemployed people in the workforce.

Apart from the abovementioned practical concerns, advertisement has played an indispensible role in many societies. To explain, the sole purpose of advertising is to promote products or services of a company, contributing to the process of achieving the ultimate goal in most organisations, making profits. This means that, without conducting any advertising campaign under any platforms, a lot of company may have to struggle in order to acknowledge their customers. For example, the emergence of Tiktok, a popular social networking app, has facilitated loads of organisations, particularly small businesses, to spread information to the viewers on a larger regional scale. As a result, it would be unjustifiable to consider advertising useless.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that while society might be negatively affected through the prohibition of advertisement, the meaningful of advertising should also be emphasised.