Some are of the opinion that people are naturally born as good leaders while others feel that leadership skills can be learned.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Leadership is believed to be innate and only people who are endowed with this aptitude can become a good leader. However, some people claim that “practice makes perfect” and this is also true for leadership. From my perspective, I support the latter viewpoint since perseverance and practice can totally compensate for talents.

To begin with, it is undeniable that there are a lot of people who have soon shown a knack for being a leader with some idiosyncratic characteristics. This is proved in famous conglomerates where talented managers often have their own ways of leading that win employee’s faith and commitment. As a result, their revenue is always on the increase thanks to an impeccable ability of the leader. Furthermore, what distinguishes between competent leaders and normal ones is that the truly talented one always knows how to make the best of a team’s members by cherry-picking the most practical ideas or inspiring them to contribute wholeheartedly to a general target. That is to say, such aforementioned skills are innate that no schools or courses can convey.

However, i believe that nothing is impossible and so is leadership which can be achieved by pertinacious efforts of training and accumulating experiences. That is why there are now a host of courses being organized to help people build certain skills that are necessary for becoming a leader such as communication,accountability and active skills. In addition, when ones constantly have to face with incessant issues, they will be able to strengthen their analytical and problem-solving techniques that will otherwise fade if not practice regularly. Moreover, members or employees are more likely to appreciate and show respect towards their boss if they are supportive and open-minded rather than being talented but arrogant and self-opinionated.

In conclusion, even though I would contend that unique qualities belong to certain people are the key factors that help them become a great leader, I strongly subscribe to John.F.Kennedy ‘s quote that “leadership and learning are indispensable to each other”.