In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that this is good for a country, while others believe that the government should control salaries and limit the amount people can earn.Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some professionals earn a handsome amount of money per month while others make very little. Many people believe that it is favorable for the country but others are of the opinion that there should be a limit on the amount of salary one can take from workplace. If government exercises control over the monetary incentives availed by every individual, it promotes equality but takes away personal liberty, making it unfair to those who work harder than others.

If maximum wages are defined, it is easier to build an economy based on equality. In this economic model, the pay gap is negligible and it leads to elimination of class system in the society. Also, the concept of rich and poor is minimal and less privileged fractions of society do not become a victim of unequal distribution of wealth.This also results in formation of a balanced society, devoid of resentment and prejudices. For example, in Scandinavian countries, the maximum salary limit is 2500 dollars per month so, no one makes extraordinary amount of money at the end of month. Research shows that class system is non-existent in these countries and people do not suffer from inferiority complexes. Moreover, ensuring controlled earning also discourages materialism in the country and creates empathy among people.

On the other hand, those who earn considerably high salaries at the end of the month often have professional degrees, which they have bagged after years of academic struggles. They also work longer hours and their jobs require high level of expertise. So, paying them equal to those who are less qualified or have easy work hours is unfair to these high functioning individuals. Furthermore, everyone has a right to make a living according to the amount of work they put in so, limiting salaries proves to be an attack on their personal liberties. In US, for instance, a doctor works sixteen hours a day while for a plumber, the mandatory work time limit is only eight hours. So, if both get paid with negligible pay gap, it would be significantly unfair to a doctor, who has studied for many years to gain this level of expertise and works for double amount of time.

To conclude, putting a limit on earning of wealth makes an economically equal society but it comes at the cost of basic rights like liberty to earn. Therefore, everyone should be allowed to enjoy salary according to his academic abilities and job requirements because generating equality by sacrificing individual rights is utter discrimination.