In some countries owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

There is no doubt that a home is a permanent address and a place to relax for many people. Some believe being a homeowner is better than being a renter. It is probably because the owners have more freedom to change and decorate their home in any way they want when compared to the same of a rantee. I consider that a increase in the numbers of homeowners would have a negative impact on the society, the economy and the environment as well.

Firstly, homeowners have more right on their homes than the tenants. As a result, they can send eviction notice whenever they want. In order to not to become a homeless person, many people started to build their own residents. Furthermore, renters always need to have permission from the house owners to change any structure of the property to their own liking where many house owners do not even live in. Besides, sometimes lenders do not even provide financial support to fix any issues that might come with the property. Finally, to avoid all these problems, people of some countries are opting to become homeowners and reside in their own houses. In addition, owning a house means gaining financial stability as the resident do not have to pay rents as well as more respect from the society. In developing countries like Bangladesh or India, people are now choosing to own houses instead renting one as a consequence.

As more people are building their houses, more land is being used for accommodation which might have been utilized for farming or forestry. Deforestation has become number one concern of some countries as an outcome. Moreover, individuals who live in a rented house are looked down upon by the fellow society members. There is a shift in the moral of a community as some are even trying to make money in illegal ways to own properties and become a respectable member of the society.

In conclusion, owning home is not a necessity. The government should make proper policies to accommodate the tenant and make them feel safer and respected in the society.