In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

The value placed on home owning differ from Nation to Nation. Although in some countries, people may prefer to own their own homes, other Nations may have their citizenry opt for renting. The former is a beneficial trend and the rationale behind choosing to purchase a home will be discussed in this essay.

To begin with, there are numerous reasons why possessing a home seems crucial, the most significant of which is the relative affordability of houses in the long run. This means that through mortgage facilities, houses can be bought and the balance paid out in small instalments over a long period of time. To exemplify this, a recent survey on housing in Southern USA showed that the average monthly house mortgage payment was $300, which is considerably lower than the median monthly rent of $750. Besides, the mortgager looks forward to being in full possession of the house at the end of the repayment period. These, so far, are arguably the reasons why some people find purchasing a home a better decision than renting.

Furthermore, some individuals find it important to own a home for the sake of posterity. Bringing this down to the family as a unit, parents are increasingly making conscious efforts to leave possessions for their children, and a home is considered on of the most valuable inheritance since its value usually appreciates over time. For example, Nigerian men usually view bequeathing a home to their children as a measure of a father’s success. Thus, it may be more logical to own than rent a home.

In conclusion, owning a home is regarded highly by some humans for different reasons such as long-term relative affordability and posterity purposes. This seems to be a positive upturn as its cons, if any, do not hold water in the light of the various pros enumerated in this essay.