In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. Which of these two systems is more appropriate in today’s world?

Currently, people have different views about whether that general education or some subjects associated with a particular occupation should be taught in secondary school. While studying many themes brings some advantages to some extent, I believe that it is more essential for students to studying specific topics.

On the one hand, there are some benefits of teaching a wide range of subjects at school. Firstly, children have more opportunities to gain an overview of a wide range of subjects and understand different aspects of life. This helps them to develop comprehensive thinking and become an all-sided person. Additionally, as many children are not mature enough to decide which subject they are really passionate about. Therefore, they should be given the chance to get exposed to as many subjects as possible so that they can identify their interesting topic.

On the other hand, learning subjects related to a particular job brings more advantages for students. Firstly, this helps facilitate students’ future career preparation. Only studying several subjects that will be useful in the future allows students to deepen their knowledge and skills in the career that they hope to pursue after graduation. Additionally, these days, many recruiters in modern economy tend to seek candidates with a good grounding in a single field over those who have general knowledge, but have little or no expertise in a particular area.

In conclusion, Whereas there are some favorable effects of studying many subjects, I would argue that learning some subject matters involved in a particular career is better.