In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. Which of these two systems is more appropriate in today's worl

It has always been a controversial issue on whether the secondary schools should teach general or specific education. Most of the countries in the world follow a curriculum covering all the basic subjects at secondary level of education. While, there are few countries like Finland, where they teach students with specific subjects following their interests. Both types have their merits and demerits. I will be delineating about my views over the topic.

To begin with, the general education that includes a wide range of subjects from biology to mathematics and geography to economics can play a crucial role in shaping a child’s future. An introduction to all the topics at the secondary level allows them to choose their career which they are most inclined to. Making right decisions about the career wouldn’t make him feel regret in the future and would allow him to concentrate on the deeper parts of his subjects. For example, a child having only biology in the school would force him to become a doctor. Instead, if he was aware of the various other topics he would have opted for the right area in which he could excel.

On the other hand, students who have specific subjects would have an edge having a couple of years of experience ahead of children who are having their general education. This kind of education is mainly for the students to excel in their career with good job opportunities. But, they have some disadvantages while they grow. If they are oriented to only specific subjects, then they might find it difficult to solve some problems they face in life. For example, a child who has been studying about economics related topics might face problems if he had to do first aid or if he had to repair some minor issues with gadgets.

In conclusion, it is evident that both have advantages and disadvantages. In my opinion, children should be trained in all the general subjects and should also be taught to select their careers according to their interests. This allows them to consider specific subjects in their higher secondary education.