In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In many nations, there has been a trend of shopping in big out-of-town stores, which is problematic for small town-center shops and leads to the escalation in car-usages when people who do not possess these vehicles may find it challenging to gain the access to those large shops. In my opinion, I suppose that this phenomenon brings more pros than cons because of the reasons that are going to be mentioned in this essay

On the one hand, moving to stores that are outside the city can help alleviate the traffic congestion in the center as well as offer consumers more choices. When many shops are erected inside a city, they would be flocked by loads of people, consequently causing traffic jams, which directly deteriorates the atmosphere. Meanwhile, the bigger shops sell more products, thus, this would not only benefit shoppers by giving them a wider range of options but also the whole economy by the revenue these stores make

On the other hand, it is obviously more inconvenient and immobile to travel long distances to only purchase a few items, especially for non-car-owners. In some circumstances, people do not go shopping with long lists of goods, in fact, some of them are just looking for only a couple of things that they have just run out of. As a result, it can be a big nuisance for these people to transport through hundreds of miles just to buy a few products. In addition, people have to go to stores for their essential goods, therefore, with only shops opened outside the center, there would bring a myriad of shortcomings for those who do not own a car

To conclude, although both positivity and negativity can be found in the favoritism of suburb shops. I strongly believe that its advantages can absolutely out shadow the drawbacks as it helps ease the traffic congestion in the city center and also develops the national economy