In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In recent years, working or travelling for a year before starting university studies has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this trend is not without disadvantages, the upside will justify these.

There are many reasons why people should take a year off before attending university. First, since people travel some foreign countries, they can have many benefits such as broaden horizon and enrich knowledge. In fact, they have a chance to meet new people, which can help them to improve their communication skills. Second, by taking a gap year for working, they have more experience than before. This means that they can use their knowledge in work and apply for study such as teamwork, which allow them to get better scores and good performance in their study.

People should not work or travel for a year in some case. First, in order to travelling, it would affect on their education. For instance, young people do not continue study and easily forget knowledge, which cause bad results when they study again in university. Second, if they work before studying university, they would not have enough health and sometimes face dangerous since they could only apply for some handle jobs such as worker or waiter. Plenty of evidence suggest that they could do overtime in factory for long time, which lead to a bad health and they also waste money to cure sickness.

In conclusion, the disadvantage about a gap years between highschool and university will be more far significant. By considering pros and cons, the student can make the best decisions.