: In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

In our modern world, taking a year off to gain job or discover sightseeing places in foreign countries especially for young generation between graduating from school and starting tertiary education is becoming increasingly popular. However, there are both pros and cons to deciding to do this. Hence, I understand the reason for majority of people’s concerning opinion that this period is not valuable for youngsters, but feel that they are misguided for several reasons.

One of the foremost advantages of moving away is that heading overseas, working and gaining job experiences could be considered as efficiently beneficial chance for personal development after high school. What I mean by this is that most of the time students are busy with their home assignments in school years and sometimes they restrict broadening their horizons, being more rounded and so on. Moreover, taking a year out might help them to learn to cope with strange environment and orientation. For instance, if a person travel any country they can meet people from different cultural backgrounds which impacts person socially effective.

Secondly, before starting academic studies this can be relaxing and helpful for delving into real life conditions. To cite an example, moving abroad may lead to be more self-confident and it can increase their self-esteem. Consequently, they become able to support their further studies financially by making considerable efforts.

Turning to the negative sides, nevertheless tertiary education is the most vital factor to achieve a successful career life, after returning home country students may have adaptation problems to a university ambiance and in some cases it can be resulted in homesickness. Another drawback is that as youngsters start to earn money for their work, they think it can be spent on whatever they want. One particularly salient example of this issue would be starting adverse habits such as smoking, drug addiction, alcohol consumption.

All things considered, starting free life is never straightforward. Personally, I believe that by encouraging their young citizens to work or travel for a year out, countries can could build a better future life.