in some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting universities studies.

Nowadays, the issues of the graduated high school students, who delay a year to study in universities for working experience gathering and travel around the world, have sparked off an argument. In my opinion, students should not make such a decision after they finish their high school studies.

There are two main reasons why the requests for gaping a year before they enter universities should not be approved by universities. First, such a decision might distort the student’s study rhythm. Apparently, they have not ever had such a holiday for travel which is longer than a year yet. Thus, they might not become suited to stress and fast rhythm due to study in universities, which lead to the study efficiency and academic performance might drop dramatically in the initial year, in that they need more time to adapt the study in universities.

In addition, compared with practising in a full-time job after obtaining bachelors’ degree, high school students have not acquired sufficient knowledge to be able to get a good practical offer from a good company to acquire working experience. Obviously, such working experience cultivation must be based on professional knowledge. Thus, they might waste a year to acquire a limited amount of industry experience.

In spite of this, the benefit of gap-years is that students indeed have enough time to broaden their horizon through the trip and full-time job. Because they have more opportunities to get in touch with the society earlier. Thus they might plan their studying directions in universities through cultivating more new aspects and perspectives about their further job.

In conclusion, there are a series of further issues caused by gap-year after the high school whatever the purposes planned to finish in a gap year. Because students accumulate limited industry experience, and their study rhythm might be influenced although such gap year is able to provide them with new perspective associated with their jobs and studies.