In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In several countries, the young are often told that they can reach every goal if they put in enough effort. Despite the obvious advantages of this trend, there are also some undeniable drawbacks.

On the one hand, these words of encouragement make children stronger. Every child wants to be recognized by the world, so they try their best to achieve their objectives, no matter how difficult they are. This is their developing motivation, and over time, children become better versions of themselves. Moreover, in their journey to conquering success, children not only need to be smart and energetic but also very persistent in what they are doing. Therefore, this message also helps the young to practice patience- one of the most important elements contributing to everybody’s success and happiness.

On the other hand, this saying from adults also has some bad impacts on the development of the young. It probably makes children feel extremely stressed. Because of being obsessed with the words “success” and “try hard”, children will tend to think that they have to achieve their objectives in any way, if they don’t want to be called losers. Those children have a high risk of suffering from some mental illnesses. Furthermore, in case of children can not reach their goals, they will feel self-conscious and no longer believe in their capacity. From there, they highly likely do not want to do any significant thing and live mundane lives for a long time.

In conclusion, children from many parts of the world are often told that every dream will come true unless they do not try hard enough. This message stem from adults’s hopes that their children will have a bright future, it brings children lots of motivation but also makes them depressed sometimes.