In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Recently, whether trying hard can result in achievements or not has been a controversial issue, not least in terms of children, in many parts of the world. It is argued that adults should tell children that if they want to gain achievements, they have to pay effort. Nevertheless, I maintain that this way does not make perfect sense for certain reasons which are put forward in this essay.

On the one hand, people usually believe:” Harder than smarter” because trying hard can help people to improve skills and be accomplished in their fields, even when they do not have talents related to these. For instance, if youngsters want to be athletes in running; however, their health cannot meet entry requirements, they have to do exercise every day and enhance the level of their physical training to outperform in comparison with others. Also, achieving their goals by trying hard can improve the sense of well-being. Indeed, children are proud of themselves due to the reward for their effort, and they never regret when they give up.

On the other hand, I claim that parents must let children know that trying hard is not the only thing for achievements to avoid being depressed. Indeed, apart from the effort, the lucky element is indispensable for any competition. For example, if children are good enough, but they have to withstand health problems while doing tests, only harder cannot help them to reach their achievements. Besides, adults must encourage children to pursue something appropriate to their abilities. For example, deaf children cannot have the ability to appreciate the value of music even when trying hard.

In conclusion, while encouraging children to pay effort can make them being proficient in their fields and boost the sense of happiness, I am inclined that children should know that only trying hard cannot do anything because luck and abilities are necessary.