In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is a popular saying for children in many cultures that once they make enough efforts, they can attain any of their goals. Akin to numerous other advice, this word of wisdom has its own merits and setbacks.

Concerning the advantages, this statement initiates a sense of self-esteem in children and stimulates them to work hard. First of all, as children are in the decisive process of constructing their perception, it is strategically vital to raise an awareness of confidence in them so that they grow up as self-reliant individuals. Therefore, boosting children to have faith in themselves is highly beneficial than discouraging them by saying that something is out of their reach. Moreover, motivating children to work earnestly for accomplishments is an efficient way of sowing seeds of diligence, an acclaimed dignity in children. There is no doubt that by being encouraged with such inspiring statements, children are more persistent and resilient to accept challenges and overcome obstacles in their life.

Given the disadvantages of this saying, it is likely to mislead children into pushing themselves too hard and oversimplifying the hurdles they confront. To begin with, as children mature with the idea that perseverance guarantees success, they are prone to put themselves into continual trials without any triumphs while neglecting other objectives that are of equal importance to their life. Furthermore, the belief in hard work can lure children into unrealistic goals. For example, a ten-year-old child may aspire to become a billionaire by the age of 15, which is rather impossible for children of that age and may even cause that child to ignore his study to focus on earning money.

In conclusion, even though a message about efforts and achievements may seem a sound advice, it is not totally flawless. Therefore, the moment at which children are told about this correlation needs careful consideration.