In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try harder enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children children this message?

The prompt states that the elders of some communities frequently educate their younger ones to never give up and instead keep trying until they achieve their dreams. The following essay will elucidate the various advantages and disadvantages of this particular method of motivation followed by different cultures.

The belief that a person can gain fame and success in any field if he/she keeps working for it is imbued in children because of its various benefits. Firstly, youngsters learn to always stay motivated and determined even when they find themselves in a predicament. Consequently, hard-work and perseverance, two of the most important skills any human being must possess, get entrenched in them. Secondly, when children follow this principle, they start making use of their full potential and serve as an asset to the country in their prime years. Acclaimed sports personalities such as Virat Kholi, MS Dhoni, Saina Nehwal and PV Sindhu restored the name and fame of India by winning laurels for the country over the years, through various tournaments and competitions, and this was made possible by their sheer dedication, will-power, and hard-work.

Nevertheless, being told all their lives to keep trying until they succeed also has detrimental effects on children. Their freedom of thought and creativity gets curbed. If students are constantly reprimanded for not fulfilling tasks such as obtaining the highest score in class, coming first in inter-school competitions, etc, they tend to fall into the toxic cycle of running behind success all the time;as a result they find facing failures extremely difficult, and it starts affecting their mental well-being negatively. For instance, there has been an exponential growth in the cases of suicides, depression and self-harm among teenagers in many parts of India.

In conclusion, motivating children to abide by the saying “never give up” works wonders; however, over-pressurizing the kids can also have deleterious effects on their health, both physically and mentally.