In some cultures, old age is more valued, while in some cultures youth is more valued. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A few cultures allocate a higher value to the elderly people while others give more importance to the youth. In my opinion, I think both young and old have expertise in different domains and they should be valued accordingly.

On the one hand, older people tend to play an important role in a time where the majority of children are raised by their grandparents due to the fact that their parents are busy working. Not only does this trend benefit grandparents directly who find that this is an important aspect of their lives, but also their grandchildren considerably. This is mainly because the elderly are familiar with traditional culture, they can uphold moral values to pass on to the younger generation, playing the key role in preservation of cultural identity, which is fading in the era of globalization. Besides, compared with young people, retirees are more financially comfortable and find pleasure in voluntary work for the sake of the whole society, and thus, make several positive contributions to the community. For example, nowadays, there are more and more groups of elderly people established to provide free education for disadvantaged children or to clean the environment.

On the other hand, youngsters have tremendous energy and can assume a leadership role to lead a culture in a new direction. Firstly, as young people have been exposed to conditions that are largely different from the ones that existed in the past, they are now more creative, adaptive, and able to find its destiny with a new perspective. Thus, they are said to be the better future of any society. Besides, the elderly members of a community are sometimes too rigid and resist any necessary change. These are transformed only once the youth is given the power to introduce a positive change. For instance, the idea related to gender inequality of older times has become intolerable in today’s world. Many social movements like the “Me Too movement” is an great example of the youth trying to eradicate the gender gap that prevents women from climbing up the corporate ladder and taking control of their own lives.

In conclusion, I tend to believe that both young and old people are valuable as a happy society needs the guidance of the elderly in a few areas and the youth’s energy to transform in other domains.