Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is agreed by some scholars that studying non native language from lower grade is advantageous, than later in high school. This essay will highlight the disadvantages of introducing alien speech early.

Learning is a never ending process. Pupils should be introduced to a foreign language later on, in the secondary school because they will have matured to choose what they want. These lower grade students already have other subjects, such as; general paper, mathematics and their native language on their shoulders which will be complex for them to comprehend due to their mental developmental milestone which is still ongoing. Introduction of overseas speech might be challenging to them and results in reduced concentration and boredom to pupils.

In addition, socialisation plays a huge role for communication channels in the home. Mostly native language is used to convey messages in the house, therefore introducing a non-native tongue might bring some confusion and disorientation to the youngones. For instance, people in the house will not be familiar with the language, this means the child will not be able to talk to anyone in the home.

However, allowing pupils to learn international language has positive impact. People are now migrating to overseas with their families, looking for greener pastures. Imagining a child who speak his or her native language only which may cause communication problems. That pupil might suffer from inferiority complex and will not be able to interact with others, therefore it is advantageous for a child to learn international speech.

In conclusion, the disadvantages of early introduction of non-native language outwit the advantages. The burden that will be on the child to try and learn the overseas tongue might lead to boredom and in worst cases school dropouts.