Some people believe the aim of the university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

Higher education undeniably plays a key role in an individual’s professional life. Some reckon that it only acts as a mean to acquire a decent job while others consider that society and the individual benefit in much broader ways.

First and foremost, in our competitive and dynamic society, it is nearly in conceivable for one to get a well-paid job without the aid of a high-qualified bachelor degree. Therefore, students strive to pass the entrance examination with a view to enrolling in prestigious institutions. Furthermore, when they have acquired specialized knowledge and learn vital skills, they can secure an adequate job or even get a promotion. Moreover, these mature students still participate in postgraduate course via evening classes or correspondence ones in order to obtain a higher position in their careers.

However, such materialistic and short-sighted view entirely degrades the essentiality of university education since its benefits diversifies in different aspects in an individual’s life. Studying in the higher educational system assists one to become more mature and autonomous when it now comes to solving problems or devising plans both which are extremely important. Moreover, only by attending universities can one learn valuable life skills in communication and group work. Furthermore, society will benefit greatly with its high-qualified workforce. Only when one attends higher education can he or she contributes more to the development of the society.

From the basis of the afore-mentioned arguments, it can be concluded that higher education has a significant impact on not only on an individual’s life but also the amelioration of the human race. Therefore, it is well-advised that student should be aware of these benefits so they will not blindly consider fortune and wealth as the motive of their education.