Some people believe government should spend money on building train and and subway lines to reduce traffic conjestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic conjestion. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that traffic jam has been a huge headache for state governments all over the world in many recent years. While many individuals argue that investing on rail and underground system could be effective and efficient, I believe that building more roads and widen them would be the highly promising approach to tackle this seriously social problem.

On the one hand, there are two principle reasons why government officials should spend money on building train and subway system. One essential reason could be that these are one type of public transportation, which is a vitally important mode of transport to alleviate traffic conjestion. It is evident that the more means of public transport are popularising, the less other means of transport are used as a train could store a vast number of passengers, especially those commuters. Therefore, traffic jam would be no longer a huge problem. Another possible motivation for utilising these means could probably that railway and underground system have used another land as opposed to other means of transport such as bus or taxis, which still take part in the same road with bicycles, motorbikes or cars.

On the other hand, I would advocate with those who think that building more and wider roads could be the highly effective method. due to the feasibility and a smaller amount of money spending on this investment. There is no point in denying that building more and larger roads is less expensive than investing in railway and metro system. This money, instead, could be utilised in widening roads, or even covering the cost of road maintenance, which is one of the main method to reduce traffic chaos. Besides, because not every areas could build railway or subway lines, especially in desert land and other geographically dangerous areas, building more and wider roads appear to be a feasible approach.

In conclusion, it seems to me that more and larger roads would be the effective method to tackle traffic conjestion although building train and underground system could address this problem to some extent.