Some people believe that if a police force carries guns this encourages higher level of violence in that society To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion

The gun ownership of policemen is a controversial problem among community because some people argue that it may lead to the increase of violence in the society. Although the violence could emerge in some cases, I believe that policemen should be equipped guns to protecting citizens and themselves as well.

The first reason I support the gun ownership of police force is that the gun is essential for a policeman to handle with criminals in emergency situations. In fact, some criminals who are so dangerous, strong and difficult to handle will trouble the policemen when they are doing their mission. Moreover, the gun given to the policemen is restricted usage, which is used just for specific situations and the policemen have to take responsibility for this property. Thus, the violence is not likely to occur when the police force follow the regulations of gun utilization.

Secondly, bringing a gun would benefit policeman as it acts like a warning for criminals not to commit a crime. Therefore, the violence and crime would reduce. In addition, if a criminal observes that a police has no weapon which is able to handle him from fleeing, he will not afraid of crime. For instance, a robber is going to rob people on the street, he might stop his criminal thought if he is afraid of a policeman carrying gun can shoot him from a far distance.

To sum up, although it may be true that the policeman with a gun will cause violence if the gun is not used properly, I strongly support the gun ownership of police force. The gun would be necessary for the police force to protect themselves and the civilians.